travel

A few days in Ontario | Day 1: Toronto

After years of thinking, wishing and talking about it, airfares finally dipped low enough and I caught the plane from Vancouver, B.C. to Toronto, Ontario.  If you’re wondering why I didn’t buy the VIA150 train pass, well…. I’m working a very exciting job over the summer and will not be able to use it anyways.

Last week, I found myself in the biggest city in Canada for eight days (including a day trip to Niagara Falls and a weekend in Ottawa), with the mission to reunite with a few friends and to escape the grey and rainy city that is Vancouver.  As you can see from the photos, the latter didn’t work too well (although I did leave with a sunburn).   Nonetheless, I had a great time exploring Toronto.

So let’s begin Day 1

DSC05699

I visited Nathan Phillips Square to see the infamous TORONTO sign.  Because it was raining, there was nobody else there taking photos and I was able to get a people-less shot of the sign.  Coming from Vancouver, that was the first thing I noticed – when it rains in Toronto, no one goes outside.  Whereas in Vancouver, people grab their umbrellas and move on (but when it snows on the other hand, Vancity descends into chaos)

DSC05701

From Nathan Phillips Square, you can see the Old City Hall.  This is what I absolutely love about older cities, the combination of historical buildings and modern skyscrapers.

DSC05710DSC05711

Hungry?  I then walked over to the St. Lawrence Market which is famous for food and market-style grocery shopping for the infamous peameal bacon sandwich from the Carousel Bakery.

At this point, the weather was getting increasingly wet, windy and depressing.  On a whim, I decided to go to the Ripley’s Aquarium under the CN tower.  Ever since I went to the aquarium in London, I’ve always been wary about going to aquariums in big cities, especially those not next to the ocean (no one wants to pay $50 to look at fish in fish bowls).

DSC05815DSC05828

I wasn’t expecting to leave impressed but the $40 price tag was worth it!  The aquarium was huge and the exhibits were really good.  My favourite parts were the shark tank tunnel with the moving walkway, the tropical fish section and the jellyfish! 😀

It stopped raining afterwards, and then I headed to try the infamous cookie dough scopes from Junked Food Co. that are posted everywhere online!!  En route, I walked through Graffiti Alley which is exactly as it sounds, an alley painted with graffiti.

DSC05874

This concludes my first day in Toronto.  Stay tuned for day two 🙂  Let me know if you’ve been to Toronto and what your favourite thing about the city is in the comments below

Alexis

 

Leave a Reply

